How to turn off ‘Last Seen’ on Instagram

How to turn off ‘Last Seen’ on Instagram

Instagram started the year with interesting updates to the photo-sharing app. First, it was the introduction of GIF stickers; then in a post on Facebook, it announced that publishers could now schedule posts.

There have also been rumours of a video calling version of the app and more unconfirmed reports of exciting feature upgrades. Then recently, Instagram quietly shipped a Last Seen update in direct messages (DM) without any announcement.

The new update lets users see presence timestamp via direct messages.

This means that in the barely noticeable text, you get to see when last a user was on or offline.

How to turn off ‘Last Seen’ on Instagram

Ever since Facebook acquired the photo-sharing app, there has been an increase in the number of upgrades and features aimed at driving engagement, and this seems to be the latest.

This ‘Last Seen’ timestamp update is moving Instagram a notch higher as a chat based social media.

With actual time signatures on the profile, it becomes harder to ignore direct messages and discussions are forced to increase as a result.

As beautiful as this upgrade is, it can be intrusive.

Related: How to Use Hashtags To Get More Followers On Instagram

Turn it off!

But the great news is this feature can be turned off completely if you want.

Click the three dots in the top right-hand corner of your Instagram app.

How to turn off ‘Last Seen’ on Instagram

Then scroll down through the settings towards the end of the page and click on the ‘Show Activity Status’ button.

How to turn off ‘Last Seen’ on Instagram

Related: Instagram Celebrates As It Hits Over 600 Million Users Mark

This automatically removes your Last Seen Timestamp. You will be able to see friends online if they have this feature turned on, but your status will be invisible online.

 

Leave a Reply